PAST


PRESENT


FUTURE

INTRODUCTION

Vienna/Dresden

A dead house is being brought back to life and is now opening its doors. An easy story to tell ...

Vienna/Dresden

A vacant building in a prominent, historically charged location is being revitalized with the aid of creativity – with the aid of art. And now a large percent-for-art project has started to shine, to sound, to oscillate: the »DNA« of artist SHA. stretches over 150 metres through the entire Lebendiges Haus (Living House). The existing architecture is evolving with the urban space into a »Holistic Design«.

FROM THE PAST

1963

The 600-year-old Sophienkirche, the sole surviving Gothic church in Dresden, is torn down in an arbitrary decision by the GDR government and replaced by the GDR’s largest gastronomy project – a large canteen, known as »Fresswürfel« (feeding cube) in common parlance. Directly opposite the world-famous Zwinger palace.

1998

1998: Considered an eyesore, the building was demolished and replaced by a new build after the reunification of Germany. The so-called »Haus am Zwinger« is constructed in a modern style by the Austrian architect Heinz Tesar after an international competition. Objections by the population concerning the historical significance of the site are largely ignored. The development of the building is tentative, it is only partly occupied, changes owner on a number of occasions and ultimately stands empty. A sad sight to behold at a prominent location.

2016

2016: Specialized in redevelopment, the German property development group Denkmalneu buys the building and, together with the Viennese artist SHA., develops a new real estate concept on the basis of the existing building: »Das Lebendige Haus« (The Living House). More than 50 years after the GDR’s arbitrariness, the building of the present tries to build a sensitive bridge between the past and the future.

IN THE PRESENT

In the present

Now, after a long beauty sleep, the site has been brought back to life. A fairy tale? No. Reality ...

Core Element

A core element of this new reality is »creativity« – the symbol of life. You can feel creativity in several places in this Lebendiges Haus (Living House): art flows through the entire building, inside and outside. It is art that was specially developed for this property. The artist SHA. closely accompanied the creation of The Living House and created the DNA for the building – as an »energetic backbone«.

Lights, Colours, Sounds

Lights, colours, sounds and oscillations produce the distinctive spatial atmosphere. A glass double helix winds its way over 150 metres through the entire building. Its path takes it from the existing architecture to a holistic design. Because the DNA oscillates in its own temporal dimension.

Decelerate

The opportunity to »decelerate« opens a connection channel between the ages: from the spirit of the Sophienkirche to a new space of sensory reflection in the middle of our high-performance society.
As the artist SHA. says: »The immaterial value that emerges in an individual is the value of this art.«

Back to the future

Das Lebendige Haus

Das Lebendige Haus (The Living House) will stay alive. The art will change over the course of time; it will adapt to the residents. But the building’s residents, tenants and guests will also change due to the art – ideally they will be inspired by the art. The future will tell whether or not that works ... ›››

The Distinctive Service Structure

The distinctive service structure of the building will definitely grow with the people. And the mix of authentic shops, 5* design apartments, cool lofts, functional offices, a conference centre, an event location and the roof terrace with the most stunning view in Dresden will guarantee vitality.

VERGANGENHEIT


GEGENWART


ZUKUNFT

Einführung

Wien/Dresden

Ein totes Haus wird wiederbelebt und öffnet nun seine Pforten. Die Story ist schnell erzählt ›››

Wien/Dresden

Eine leerstehende Immobilie an einem prominenten, historisch belasteten Ort wird mithilfe von Kreativität – mithilfe von Kunst – revitalisiert. Damit beginnt ein großes Kunst-am-Bau Projekt zu leuchten, zu klingen, zu schwingen: Die »DNA« des Künstlers SHA. erstreckt sich über 150 Meter durch das ganze Lebendige Haus. Die bestehende Architektur entwickelt sich mit dem städtischen Raum weiter zu einem »Holistic Design«.

Aus der Vergangenheit

1963

Die 600 Jahre alte Sophienkirche wird als einzige noch erhaltene gotische Kirche Dresdens in einem Willkürakt der DDR-Regierung abgerissen und durch das größte gastronomische Projekt der DDR ersetzt – eine Großgaststätte, im Volksmund »Fresswürfel« genannt. Direkt vis-à-vis des weltberühmten Zwinger ...

1998

Nach der Wende wird das als Schandfleck empfundene Gebäude abgetragen und durch einen Neubau ersetzt. Das sog. »Haus am Zwinger« wird nach einem internationalem Architekturwettbewerb in modernem Stil errichtet. Einwände von der Bevölkerung betreffend der historischen Bedeutung dieses Ortes bleiben weitgehend unberücksichtigt. Die Immobilie entwickelt sich zaghaft, wird nur teilweise bezogen, wechselt mehrfach den Besitzer und steht schließlich leer. Ein trauriger Anblick an prominenter Stelle.

2016

Die auf Sanierungsobjekte spezialisierte, deutsche Bauträgergruppe Denkmalneu erwirbt die Immobilie und entwickelt auf der Grundlage des bestehenden Gebäudes gemeinsam mit dem Wiener Künstler SHA. ein neues Immobilienkonzept: »Das Lebendige Haus«. Gut 50 Jahre nach der DDR Willkür versucht dieses Haus heute in der Gegenwart, eine sensible Brücke zwischen der Vergangenheit und der Zukunft zu bauen.

In die Gegenwart

Heute

Heute wird dieser Ort nach einem langen Dornröschenschlaf wiederbelebt. Ein Märchen? Nein! Wirklichkeit ...

Zentrales Element

Zentrales Element dieser neuen Wirklichkeit ist »Kreativität« – Zeichen für Leben. Kreativität ist in diesem Lebendigen Haus an vielen Stellen zu spüren: Kunst durchzieht das ganze Gebäude, Innen und Außen. Es ist eine Kunst, die speziell für dieses Haus entwickelt wurde. Der Künstler SHA. hat die Entstehung des Lebendigen Hauses eng begleitet und die DNA für dieses Gebäude geschaffen – als »energetisches Rückgrat«.

Lichter, Farben, Klänge

Lichter, Farben, Klänge und Schwingungen erzeugen die besondere Raum-Atmosphäre. Eine gläserne Doppelhelix schlingt sich über 150 Meter durch das ganze Gebäude. Der Weg führt von der bestehenden Architektur hin zu einer ganzheitlichen Gestaltung. Denn diese DNA schwingt in ihrer eigenen Zeitdimension:

Entschleunigung

SHA. im O-Ton: »Die Möglichkeit zur Entschleunigung öffnet einen Verbindungskanal zwischen den Zeiten: Vom Geist der Sophienkirche hin zu einem neuen Raum der Besinnung inmitten unserer Hochleistungsgesellschaft. Der immaterielle Wert, der im Menschen entsteht, ist der Wert dieser Kunst.«

Zurück in die Zukunft

Das Lebendige Haus

Das Lebendige Haus will lebendig bleiben. Die Kunst wird sich im Laufe der Zeit verändern, sie wird sich an die Bewohner adaptieren. Aber auch die Bewohner, Mieter und Gäste des Hauses werden sich durch die Kunst verändern – im besten Fall werden sie von der Kunst inspiriert. Ob das funktioniert wird die Zukunft zeigen ...

Die besondere Service-Struktur

Die besondere Service-Struktur des Hauses will jedenfalls gemeinsam mit den Menschen wachsen. Und der Mix aus authentischen Läden, 5* Design Apartments, coolen Lofts, funktionellen Büros, einem Tagungszentrum, einer Eventlocation und der Dachterrasse mit dem schönsten Ausblick Dresdens will Lebendigkeit garantieren.